
 

 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

 

Bulletin 746Louisiana Standards for State Certification of School Personnel 

(LAC 28:CXXXI.1703) 

 

In accordance with the provisions of R.S. 17:6(A)(10) and the Administrative Procedure Act (APA), R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et 

seq., the Board of Elementary and Secondary Education proposes to amend LAC 28:CXXXI. in Bulletin 746Louisiana 

Standards for State Certification of School Personnel. The revisions allow additional time from time of denial of an 

educator credential for an applicant to appeal by increasing from 90 days to 120 days. Additionally, revisions align 

language regarding post-secondary degrees, require that appeals regarding effectiveness include evidence from the local 

board that justifies issuance of a credential, and make technical edits. 

  

Title 28 

EDUCATION 

Part CXXXI.  Bulletin 746―Louisiana Standards for State Certification of School Personnel 

Chapter 17. Certification Appeal Process 

§1703. Appeal Process 

A. An applicant who is denied certification but seeks an appeal based upon legitimate grounds may submit a 

certification appeal application to the LDE. Only an individual who has been evaluated and denied certification through 

the LDE is eligible to file an appeal to be considered by the TCAC. The following restrictions apply: 

1. An appeal cannot be initiated until: 

a. an applicant has submitted a complete certification application to the LDE; 

b. the application is reviewed by a certification specialist; and 

c. the applicant is notified the requested certification is denied. 

2. An appeal application is received by the certification office within 120 days from the date that the certification 

request was denied. 

3. Appeals will not be considered for individuals who: 

a. lack exam requirements for initial certification; 

b. lack a minimum grade point average of 2.50 for initial certification and who did not meet the conditional 

admittance and program requirements as outlined in R.S. 17:7.1(A)(3); 

c. lack reading requirements per R.S. 17:7.1(A)(4)(a); 

d. lack 50 percent or more of courses or preparation program requirements required for certification; 

e. lack a degree from a college or university accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 602; or 

f. failed to meet the standards of effectiveness for three years pursuant to Bulletin 130 and R.S. 17:3902 and have 

not provided evidence from the local board that justifies the issuance of a certificate. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), R.S. 17:7(6), R.S. 17:10, R.S. 17:22(6), 

R.S. 17:391.1-391.10, and R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 48:474 (March 2022), 

repromulgated LR 48:1082 (April 2022), LR 48: 

Family Impact Statement 

In accordance with section 953 and 974 of title 49 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a Family 

Impact Statement on rules proposed for adoption, repeal, or amendment. All Family Impact Statements will be kept on file 

in the state board office which has adopted, amended, or repealed rules in accordance with the applicable provisions of the 

law relating to public records. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of their 

children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and personal responsibility of children? No. 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform the function as contained in the proposed Rule? Yes. 

Poverty Impact Statement 

In accordance with section 973 of title 49 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a Poverty Impact 

Statement on rules proposed for adoption, amendment, or repeal. All Poverty Impact Statements will be in writing and 

kept on file in the state agency which has adopted, amended, or repealed rules in accordance with the applicable provisions 

of the law relating to public records. For the purposes of this section, the word “poverty” means living at or below 100 

percent of the federal poverty line. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the household income, assets, and financial authority? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect early childhood development and preschool through postsecondary education 

development? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect employment and workforce development? Yes. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect taxes and tax credits? No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect child and dependent care, housing, health care, nutrition, transportation, and utilities 

assistance? No. 

Small Business Statement 

The impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses as defined in R.S. 49:965.6, the Regulatory Flexibility Act, has been 

considered. It is estimated that the proposed action is not expected to have a significant adverse impact on small businesses. 

The agency, consistent with health, safety, environmental, and economic welfare factors has considered and, where 



 

 

possible, utilized regulatory methods in the drafting of the proposed Rule that will accomplish the objectives of applicable 

statutes while minimizing the adverse impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses. 

Provider Impact Statement 

The proposed Rule should not have any known or foreseeable impact on providers as defined by HCR 170 of the 2014 

Regular Legislative Session. In particular, there should be no known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the staffing level requirements or qualifications required to provide the same level of service; 

2. the cost to the providers to provide the same level of service; or 

3. the ability of the provider to provide the same level of service. 

Public Comments 

Interested persons may submit written comments via the U.S. Mail until noon, August 10, 2022, to Shan N. Davis, 

Executive Director, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-

9064.  Written comments may also be hand delivered to Shan Davis, Executive Director, Board of Elementary and 

Secondary Education, Suite 5-190, 1201 North Third Street, Baton Rouge, LA  70802 and must be date stamped by the 

BESE office on the date received.  Public comments must be dated and include the original signature of the person 

submitting the comments. 

Shan N. Davis 

Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE: Bulletin 746Louisiana Standards for State Certification of School Personnel 

(LAC 28:CXXXI.1703) 

 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed revisions will not have an effect on costs or savings to state or local governmental units. The revisions allow 

additional time from denial of an educator credential for an applicant to appeal by increasing the time limit from 90 days to 120 

days.  Additionally, the revisions align language regarding post-secondary degrees, require that appeals regarding effectiveness 

include evidence from the local board that justifies issuance of a credential, and make technical edits. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed revisions will not have an effect on revenue collections of state or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO DIRECTLY AFFECTED, SMALL BUSINESSES, PERSONS OR 

NON-GOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed revisions may benefit applicants for educator credentials by providing additional time to appeal a denial.  

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT (Summary) 

The proposed revisions will not have an effect on competition and employment. 

Beth Scioneaux Alan Boxberger 

Deputy Superintendent Staff Director 

1905#                   Legislative Fiscal Office 


