
 

Notice of Intent 

Department of Children and Family Services  

Licensing Section 

Child Placing Clarifications 

(LAC 67:V.7311, 7313, 7315, 7321, and 7323) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 

Procedure Act R.S. 49:953 (A)and R.S. 46:1407 (D), the 

Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS) proposes to 

amend LAC 67, Part V, Subpart 8, Chapter 73, Child Placing 

Agencies, Section 7311, 7313, 7315, 7321, and 7323. 

 The proposed rule clarifies requirements related to 

insurance coverage, location of first aid supplies, criminal 

background check timeframes, mandated reporter training, 

training topics for youth in the transitional placing program, 

and the location of first aid supplies in transitional placing 

programs. The proposed rule also adds timeframes for providing 

influenza information to foster/adoptive parents, adds an 

alternative safe sleep course, extends timeframes for obtaining 

statements of health, and adds a requirement for youth in the 

extended foster care program to be able to remain in their 

foster/adoptive placement. 

Title 67 

SOCIAL SERVICES 

Part V. Child Welfare 

Subpart 8. Residential Licensing 

Chapter 73. Child Placing Agencies—General Provisions 

§7311. Licensing Requirements—Foster Care, Adoption, 

Transitional Placing 

 A. – A.16. ... 

  A.17. The provider shall have documentation of 

current general liability coverage. Documentation shall consist 

of the current insurance policy or current binder which includes 



 

the name of the agency, address of the agency, the name of the 

insurance company, policy number, period of coverage, and 

explanation of the coverage. 

  18. The provider shall have documentation of current 

property insurance or current rental insurance coverage for each 

transitional placing location. Documentation shall consist of 

the current insurance policy or current binder which includes 

the name of the agency, address of location(s) covered, the name 

of the insurance company, policy number, period of coverage, and 

explanation of the coverage. 

 B. – B.5.g.iii. ... 

iv. CBC clearance dated no earlier than 45 

days prior to hire or if a currently hired staff person assuming 

the position of program director, then a copy of the 

satisfactory CBC which is on file for individual’s previous 

position with the agency; 

v. Louisiana State Central Registry 

clearance dated no earlier than 45 days prior to hire or if a 

currently hired staff person assuming the position of program 

director, then a copy of the SCR clearance which is on file for 

individual’s previous position with the agency; and 

vi. if an individual resided in a state 

other than Louisiana in the previous five years, State Central 

Registry clearance from those states dated no earlier than 120 

days prior to hire; however, individuals who continue to reside 

outside of the state of Louisiana and work for a licensed 

provider in the state of Louisiana, their clearances shall be 

dated no earlier than 45 days prior to hire and/or having access 

to children/youth or if a currently hired staff person assuming 

the position of program director, then a copy of the SCR 

clearance which is on file for individual’s previous position 

with the agency. 



 

B.5.h. – N.4. ... 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:477 and R.S. 46:1401 et seq. 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Children and Family Services, Licensing Section, LR 45:359 

(March 2019), effective April 1, 2019, LR 46:681 (May 2020), 

effective June 1, 2020, amended LR 47: 

§7313. Administration and Operation 

 A. – B.1.b.i. ... 

ii. each transitional placing location 

seeking to be licensed for or currently licensed for a capacity 

of four or more youth shall have documentation of approval; 

B.1.c. city fire department; if applicable: 

i. each transitional placing location 

seeking to be licensed for or currently licensed for a capacity 

of four or more youth in a one or two family dwelling shall have 

documentation of approval; 

B.1.d. – C.12. ... 

C.13. In accordance with R.S. 46:1428, DCFS will 

provide information regarding influenza to providers prior to 

November 1 each year. The child-placing agency shall provide to 

all foster/adoptive parents, child’s legal guardian with the 

exception of DCFS, and to all youth aged eighteen or above, the 

written information provided by DCFS relative to the risks 

associated with influenza and the availability, effectiveness, 

known contraindications, and possible side effects of the 

influenza immunization within seven calendar days of receipt 

from DCFS. This information shall include the causes and 

symptoms of influenza, the means by which influenza is spread, 

the places a parent or legal guardian may obtain additional 

information, and where a child/youth may be immunized against 

influenza. 



 

14. As required by chapter 55 of Title 46 of R.S. 

46:2701-2711, the child-placing agency shall post the current 

copy of “The Safety Box” newsletter issued by the Office of the 

Attorney General in the child-placing agency’s office within 

seven calendar days of receipt from DCFS. The child-placing 

agency shall provide a copy of the safety box newsletter to all 

foster parents, adoptive parents, and youth in transitional 

placing programs within seven calendar days of receipt from 

DCFS. Items listed as recalled in the newsletter shall not be 

used and shall be immediately removed from the home/premises. 

Provider shall document within 14 calendar days of receipt from 

DCFS in the foster/adoptive parent record and transitional 

placing youth’s record receipt of the newsletter and 

confirmation with the foster/adoptive parent and transitional 

placing youth that the home and environment were checked and the 

recalled products were removed. 

D. – E.4. ... 

E.5. All records shall be maintained in an accessible, 

standardized order and format. If a provider maintains records 

in an electronic format only, a staff person shall be 

immediately available at all times during the licensing 

inspection to locate information on the computer that is 

requested by Licensing staff and print information if requested. 

Provider shall also have a contingency plan that would allow 

Licensing staff to continue to review records in the event a 

power outage occurs. 

E.6. – J.1. ... 

J.2. Staff shall complete orientation training within 

the individual’s first 15 working days from date of hire. 

Provider's orientation program shall include the following: 

J.2.a. – J.5. ... 

J.6. All staff hired effective April 1, 2019, or after 



 

working with foster/adoptive parents shall complete the Reducing 

the Risk of SIDS in Early Education and Child Care training 

available at www.pedialink.org or the Safe Sleep, Reducing the 

Risk of SIDS training available through DCFS at 

www.moodle.lcwta.org within the individual’s first 15 working 

days after hire. Documentation of training shall be the 

certificate obtained upon completion of the training. 

J.7. – K.4. ... 

K.5. Effective April 1, 2019, all staff working with 

foster/adoptive parents shall complete the “Reducing the Risk of 

SIDS in Early Education and Child Care” training available at 

www.pedialink.org or the Safe Sleep, Reducing the Risk of SIDS 

training available through DCFS at www.moodle.lcwta.org within 

45 days and updated annually. Documentation of training shall be 

the certificate obtained upon completion of the training. 

K.6. – U.5. ... 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1407(D). 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Children and Family Services, Licensing Section, LR 45:368 

(March 2019), effective April 1, 2019, LR 46:683 (May 2020), 

effective June 1, 2020, LR 47: 

§7315. Foster and Adoptive Certification 

A. Home Study—Foster and Adoptive Home 

1. Prior to placement of a child/youth in the 

home, the provider shall complete a home study of the 

foster/adoptive parent and their home. The home study shall 

be signed and dated by the person completing the home study 

and approved, signed, and dated by a licensed clinical social 

worker, licensed master social worker with 3 years of 

experience in adoption or foster care services, licensed 

professional counselor, licensed psychologist, medical 

http://www.pedialink.org/
http://www.moodle.lcwta.org/
http://www.pedialink.org/
http://www.moodle.lcwta.org/


 

psychologist, licensed psychiatrist, or licensed marriage and 

family therapist prior to certification of the 

foster/adoptive parents. All individuals who approve home 

studies shall be licensed in the state of Louisiana. 

A.2. – A.7. ... 

A.8. Foster/adoptive parents and adults of the 

household interviewed in person shall sign and date summary 

or home study written by the interviewer upon it’s completion 

to ensure accuracy. 

A.9. – C. ... 

C.1. An inquiry of the state central registry for 

members of the household 18 years of age and older, excluding 

children in DCFS custody shall be conducted prior to 

certification and annually thereafter. The SCR clearance 

expires one year from the date noted on the clearance. The 

annual SCR clearance shall be obtained prior to its' 

expiration. No person whose name is recorded on the state 

central registry with a valid (justified) finding of abuse or 

neglect of a child shall reside in the home. 

C.2. – D.21. ... 

D.22. Prior to certification, the 

foster/adoptive parent(s) shall receive a list of the 

responsibilities noted in 7315.D.1-21. There shall be 

documentation signed and dated by the foster/adoptive parent 

acknowledging receipt of the list of responsibilities by the 

foster/adoptive parent in the foster/adoptive parent record. 

E. – E.3.n. ... 

E.4. A statement of health dated within six months 

prior to certification and updated every three years for each 

adult member of the prospective foster/adoptive parent's 

household, excluding youth in DCFS custody, signed by a 

licensed physician or licensed health care professional 



 

verifying that the individual: 

E.4.a. – G.14. ... 

15. Children with the exception of infants shall 

not share a bedroom with adults. Exceptions may be granted as 

noted below; however, a child shall not share a bed with an 

adult under any circumstances. 

a. An exception may be granted when a child 

needs close supervision due to illness or medical condition 

and approval is received from the child-placing agency.  

i. Documentation of the exception from 

the child-placing agency shall be in the foster/adoptive 

parent(s) record. Documentation shall include the following: 

(a). name of child sharing the room 

with an adult for which approval is granted, 

(b). name of adult(s) sharing the room 

with the child for which approval is granted, 

(c). description of illness or medical 

condition warranting the exception being granted, 

(d). timeframe for which approval is 

granted, 

(e). signature and date of child-

placing agency staff granting approval, and 

(f). conditions, if any for which 

approval is granted. 

b. An exception may be granted in accordance 

with DCFS Child Welfare policy if the adult is a young adult 

in the DCFS Extended Foster Care Program and was already 

sharing a room with the child upon the youth reaching 

adulthood. No young adult in the DCFS Extended Foster Care 

Program shall be newly placed in a home whereby they would be 

required to share a bedroom with a child. 

i. Documentation of the exception from 



 

Child Welfare shall be on file prior to the young adult in 

the DCFS Extended Foster Care Program attaining their 18th 

birthday. Documentation shall include the following: 

(a). name of the CPA, if applicable 

for which approval is granted, 

(b). name of the foster/adoptive home 

for which approval is granted, 

(c). names and birth dates of children 

sharing the room with the young adult in the DCFS Extended 

Foster Care Program for which approval is granted, 

(d). name and birth date of young 

adult in the DCFS Extended Foster Care Program sharing a room 

with the children noted for which approval is granted, 

(e). signature and date of child 

welfare state office staff granting approval, and 

(f). conditions, if any for which 

approval is granted. 

H. – P.4. ... 

P.5. Once certified, a minimum of 15 hours of child-

placing agency approved training shall be received annually 

by the foster parents prior to certification expiration. The 

hours may be shared among the adult members of the family, 

however, each adult shall receive a minimum of five hours. If 

adult members of the household attend trainings together, 

each person shall receive individual credit for their 

attendance. It is not required for adult members of the 

household to attend trainings on different topics. All hours 

received by each individual adult member of the household 

will account for the total number of hours received per 

household. Documentation of training completed shall include 

certificate of participation or sign in log specifying foster 

parent’s name, training topic, date, and number of hours 



 

completed. Foster parents certified by DCFS shall follow the 

training requirement timeframe as noted in DCFS child welfare 

policy. 

6. Prior to certification and updated annually, 

documentation of reasonable and prudent parent training for 

all foster parents shall be maintained. Documentation shall 

include the training topics, foster parent signature, and 

date. Reasonable and prudent parent training or training 

materials, as developed or approved by DCFS, shall include, 

but is not limited to the following topic areas: 

P.6.a. – P.7. ... 

8. Prior to certification, all prospective 

foster/adoptive parents shall complete the DCFS “mandated 

reporter training” available at dcfs.la.gov. DCFS certified 

foster/adoptive parents shall meet the requirements as set forth 

in DCFS policy. Documentation of training shall be the 

certificate obtained upon completion of the training. This 

training may be applied toward meeting the annual required 

training hours for foster parents as noted in §7315.P.5. 

9. Prior to certification all prospective 

foster/adoptive parents shall complete the “Reducing the Risk of 

SIDS in Early Education and Child Care” training available at 

www.pedialink.org or the Safe Sleep, Reducing the Risk of SIDS 

training available through DCFS at www.moodle.lcwta.org. DCFS 

certified foster/adoptive parents shall meet the requirements as 

set forth in DCFS policy. Documentation of training shall be the 

certificate obtained upon completion of the training. This 

training may be applied toward meeting the annual required 

training hours for foster parents as noted in §7315.P.5. 

10. Effective April 1, 2019, currently certified 

foster/adoptive parents shall complete the DCFS “mandated 

reporter training” available at dcfs.la.gov within 45 days and 

http://www.pedialink.org/
http://www.moodle.lcwta.org/


 

annually thereafter. DCFS certified foster/adoptive parents 

shall meet the requirements as set forth in DCFS policy. 

Documentation of training shall be the certificate obtained upon 

completion of the training. This training may be applied toward 

meeting the annual required training hours for foster parents as 

noted in §7315.P.5. 

11. Effective April 1, 2019, currently certified 

foster/adoptive parents shall complete the “Reducing the Risk of 

SIDS in Early Education and Child Care” training available at 

www.pedialink.org or the Safe Sleep, Reducing the Risk of SIDS 

training available through DCFS at www.moodle.lcwta.org within 

45 days and annually thereafter. DCFS certified foster/adoptive 

parents shall meet the requirements as set forth in DCFS policy.  

Documentation of training shall be the certificate obtained upon 

completion of the training. This training may be applied toward 

meeting the annual required training hours for foster parents as 

noted in §7315.P.5. 

12. – Q.1. ... 

Q.2. Foster/adoptive parent(s) shall have at least one 

adult (age 18 or older) responsible for the supervision of 

children or available at all times within close proximity of the 

home when a foster/adoptive parent is not present. The appointed 

adult caregiver shall be available by phone at all times. 

R. – V.1. ... 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1407(D). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Children and Family Services, Licensing Section, LR 45:377 

(March 2019), effective April 1, 2019, LR 46:686 (May 2020), 

effective June 1, 2020, LR 47: 

§7321. Adoption Services 

A. – H.2. ... 

http://www.pedialink.org/
http://www.moodle.lcwta.org/


 

H.3. After the visits noted in §7321.H.2., provider 

shall conduct an in home supervisory visit with one adoptive 

parent at least once every other month. Provider shall observe 

the infant in the home at each supervisory visit conducted. 

H.4. – M.4. ... 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1407(D). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Children and Family Services, Licensing Section, LR 45:388 

(March 2019), effective April 1, 2019, LR 47: 

§7323. Transitional Placing Program 

A. – A.5. ... 

A.6. One training topic referenced in §7323.A.5.a. 

shall commence within seven calendar days from the date of 

placement. Training shall be continuous until all aforementioned 

topics are covered (depending on length of stay.) Training shall 

be tailored to youth’s current level of functioning with 

additional training introduced as a youth progresses, achieves 

success in the minimum skills, and articulates a desire to learn 

more advanced skills. Documentation of training shall include 

signature of staff, signature of youth, training topics 

addressed, and date training occurred. 

7. A written description of training provided to 

youth transitioning from the program shall be included in 

policy. Topics shall include, but are not limited to the 

following: 

a. developing and following a budget; 

b. identifying safe and affordable housing; 

c. negotiating a lease; 

d. understanding the terms of a lease or 

housing contract; 



 

e. understanding landlord/tenant rights and 

responsibilities; 

f. searching for a job; and 

g. retaining a job. 

8. Training shall be completed prior to the youth 

transitioning from the program. Documentation shall include 

signature of staff and youth, training topics, and date. 

B. – C.1. ... 

C.2. Each youth shall have his/her own bed located in 

a designated bedroom. With the exception of a studio apartment 

housing one youth, common areas shall not be used as a bedroom; 

however, if youth chooses to use a common area as a bedroom, 

documentation shall include a signed and dated statement by 

youth indicating such. In addition, written annual approval is 

required by the OSFM for each apartment unit/location address 

allowing a common area to be used as a bedroom. 

C.3. – C.8. ... 

C.9. First aid supplies shall be provided by the 

child-placing agency and maintained in each transitional placing 

living unit unless the TP program office is on-site, staffed 24 

hours a day, and accessible to all the residents, then first aid 

supplies may be stored in the office. Supplies shall include, 

but not limited to the following: 

a. – D.1.c. ... 

D.2. Approval from child welfare state office staff 

shall be obtained and documented prior to placing a youth in 

DCFS custody in a transitional placing program that has been 

suicidal, homicidal, and/or exhibited any psychotic behaviors in 

the past six months.  

3. Documentation from the child welfare state office 

shall include: 



 

a. name of the CPA for which approval is 

granted, 

b. name and birth date of youth for which 

approval is granted, 

c. statement explaining why the youth is 

appropriate for placement in the transitional placing program 

despite not meeting the criteria noted in Section 7323.D.1.c, 

d. signature of child welfare state office 

staff granting approval and date of approval which shall be 

prior to the placement date, and 

e. conditions, if any for which approval is 

granted. 

D.4. – L.6.j. ... 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1407(D). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Children and Family Services, Licensing Section, LR 45:392 

(March 2019), effective April 1, 2019, LR 46:686 (May 2020), 

effective June 1, 2020, LR 47: 

Family Impact Statement 

The proposed rule is not anticipated to have an impact on 

family formation, stability, and autonomy as described in R.S. 

49:972. 

Poverty Impact Statement 

The proposed rule is not anticipated to have an impact on 

poverty as defined by R.S. 49:973. 

Small Business Analysis 

The proposed rule is not anticipated to have an adverse 

impact on small businesses as defined in the Regulatory 

Flexibility Act. 

Provider Impact Statement 



 

The proposed rule is not anticipated to have an impact on 

providers of services funded by the state as described in HCR 

170 of the 2014 Regular Legislative Session. 

Public Comments 

All interested persons may submit written comments through 

January 26, 2021, to Angie Badeaux, Licensing Program Director, 

Department of Children and Family Services, P. O. Box 3078, 

Baton Rouge, LA, 70821. 

Public Hearing 

A virtual public hearing on the proposed rule will be held 

at 9:00 a.m. on January 26, 2021, by the Department of Children 

and Family Services. All interested persons will be afforded an 

opportunity to submit data, views, or arguments via PC, Mac, 

Linux, iOS or Android at 

https://stateofladcfs.zoom.us/j/94683082048; or via telephone by 

dialing (713)353-0212 and entering conference code 430033. To 

find local AT&T numbers visit 

https://www.teleconference.att.com/servlet/glbAccess?process=1&a

ccessNumber=7133530212&accessCode=848054. Individuals with 

disabilities who require special services should contact the 

DCFS Appeals Unit at least seven working days in advance of the 

hearing.  For assistance, call (225) 342-4120 (Voice and TDD). 

 

 Marketa Garner Walters 

 Secretary 

https://stateofladcfs.zoom.us/j/94683082048
https://www.teleconference.att.com/servlet/glbAccess?process=1&accessNumber=7133530212&accessCode=848054
https://www.teleconference.att.com/servlet/glbAccess?process=1&accessNumber=7133530212&accessCode=848054


 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
 

 

Person Preparing 

Statement: 
Angie Badeaux Department: Children and Family Services 

Phone: 225-620-6702 Office: Office of the Secretary 

Return Address: 
627 N. 4th Street, P.O. Box 

3078 Baton Rouge, LA 70821 
Rule Title: Child Placing Clarifications 

  
Date Rule 

Takes Effect: 
April 1, 2021 

 

SUMMARY 
 

In accordance with Section 953 of Title 49 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 

fiscal and economic impact statement on the rule proposed for adoption, repeal or amendment.  THE 

FOLLOWING STATEMENTS SUMMARIZE ATTACHED WORKSHEETS, I THROUGH IV AND 

WILL BE PUBLISHED IN THE LOUISIANA REGISTER WITH THE PROPOSED AGENCY RULE. 

 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO STATE OR LOCAL 

GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

 

In FY 21, this rule change is anticipated to increase the expenses of the Department of Children 

and Family Services (DCFS) by $2,982 ($1,372 State General Funds and $1,610 Federal Funds) 

for publication costs. There are no other anticipated impacts on state or local government 

expenditures. 

 

The proposed rule amends Chapter 73, Child Placing Agencies, Sections 7311, 7313, 7315, 7321, 

and 7323. The proposed rule adds clarifying language related to documentation requirements of 

insurance coverage, location of first aid supplies, documentation requirements of state central 

registry background checks, timeframe for providing information about the influenza vaccine, 

timeframe for posting “The Safety Box” newsletter, accessibility of electronic records, additional 

options for training classes, documentation requirements for placing certain youth in transitional 

placement, and exceptions for foster/adoptive children sharing a bedroom. 

 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE OR LOCAL 

GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

 

Implementation of this rule will not effect state or local government revenue collections. 

 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO DIRECTLY AFFECTED 

PERSONS OR NON-GOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary) 

 

This proposed rule may have an economic impact on some groups. The rule change provides that 

child placement agencies that only maintain electronic records must have electronic records 

available on site at all times, which may necessitate the purchase of additional computer equipment 

or software.  Additionally, the rule change provides more exceptions to foster/adoptive children 

sharing a bedroom, which may result in an economic benefit to foster/adoptive parents given that 

they may not be required to increase the number of bedrooms in their home.  

 
IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT (Summary) 

 

There is no estimated impact on competition and employment. 

 

     

Signature of Agency Head or 

Designee 

 Date  LEGISLATIVE FISCAL 
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Designee 

 DATE OF SIGNATURE 

 

 

 

DCFS Undersecretary 
 


