
NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 

Office of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences 

 

Advisory Commission on Pesticides 

 Examinations, Certifications, Licensing, and Fees (LAC 7:XXIII.701 and 901) 

 

 In accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950, et seq., and pursuant to the authority set 

forth in R.S. 3:3203 and R.S. 3:3251, notice is hereby given that the Department of Agriculture and Forestry 

(“Department”), through the Office of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, intends to amend LAC 7:XXIII.701 

and 901. The proposed amendment to LAC 7:XXIII.701 removes the requirement that applicants for the private 

applicator, commercial applicator, or pesticide salespersons examinations who fail to receive a passing score on an 

exam wait a minimum of 10 days before being eligible for re-examination. The requirement that no person shall be 

allowed to take a private applicator examination, commercial applicator examination, or pesticide salesperson 

examination more than three times in a 12-month period is also removed. Louisiana is the only state with restrictions 

on the time intervals between testing and limitations on the amount of re-testing permitted per year for private 

applicator, commercial applicator and salesperson examinations. These changes are being made to align with current 

practices of other states and the industry.  

 The proposed amendment to LAC 7:XXIII.901 is being made pursuant to the authority set forth in 3:3251, 

which allows the Commissioner to establish examination fees by rule in an amount not to exceed $200. The proposed 

amendment to LAC 7:XXIII.901 increases the examination fees from $25 to $50 for commercial applicator 

examinations, pesticide salesperson examinations, and agricultural consultant examinations taken in Baton Rouge and 

examinations taken at meetings outside Baton Rouge. The proposed amendment also includes a $50 fee to take the 

private applicator examination. Currently, there is no fee for the private applicator examination and Louisiana is the 

only state that does not charge a fee to take the private applicator examination. The proposed amendments to LAC 

7:XXIII.901 ensures consistency of the examinations fees for all areas of Louisiana.  

 

Title 7 

AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 

Part XXIII. Pesticides 

 

Chapter 7. Examinations, Certification and Licensing 

 

Subchapter A. Examinations 

 

§701. Examinations of Private Applicators, Commercial Applicators, Pesticide Salespersons, and 

Agricultural Consultants   

A. – C. … 

D. Each applicant for the agricultural consultant examination who fails to receive a passing score shall wait a 

minimum of 10 days before being eligible for re-examination.   

E. No person shall be allowed to take an agricultural consultant examination more than three times in a 12-

month period. 

F. Applicants who fail to receive a passing score on the private applicator examination, commercial applicator 

examination, or pesticide salesperson examination shall be eligible for re-examination after completing and submitting 

an application for retesting.   

G. An applicant who took and did not pass an examination in this state under these standards shall not be 

permitted to receive certification in the occupation or category for which the examination was taken under a reciprocal 

agreement with another state. 

H. All applicants for private applicators' certification must be at least 16 years of age or an emancipated minor. 

All applicants for salesperson certification must be at least 18 years of age or an emancipated minor. 

I. An applicant shall be disqualified from completing an examination or taking any other examination 

administered under these rules and regulations if the applicant is caught or found to be cheating on an examination or 

using any written materials, electronic devices, or other means during an examination, which have not been authorized 

or allowed by the director or person administering the examination. 

 1.e. – 4. … 

 



AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 3:3203 and R.S. 3:3241 and 3:3249. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Agriculture, Advisory Commission on Pesticides, LR 

9:178 (April 1983), amended LR 11:943 (October 1985), amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 

amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, LR 15:76 

(February 1989), amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agricultural and Environmental 

Sciences, Advisory Commission on Pesticides, LR 28:39 (January 2002), amended by the Department of Agriculture 

and Forestry, Office of Agriculture and Environmental Sciences, Advisory Commission on Pesticides, LR 35:626 

(April 2009), repromulgated by Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agricultural and Environmental 

Sciences, Advisory Commission on Pesticides, LR 37:3471 (December 2011). 

 

Chapter 9. Fees 

§901. Fees 

A. Fees required under the Louisiana Pesticide Law to be adopted by regulation are established as: 

Special Local Need Registration  

Application Fee $100 

Examination Fees  
         Private Applicator Exam 

         Commercial Applicator Exam 

         Pesticide Salesperson Exam 
         Agricultural Consultant Exam 

$50 

$50 per category 

$50 
$50 per category  

Duplicate Licenses and/or Certification Cards Same as Original 

Requested Lists and Copies 

Postage + minimum 
of $1 or Postage + 

$0.25 /page 

B. – E. … 

 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 3:3203, R.S. 3:3221, R.S. 3:3222 and R.S. 

3:3251. 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Agriculture, Advisory Commission on 

Pesticides, LR 10:194 (March 1984), amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Advisory Commission 

on Pesticides, LR 15:76 (February 1989), LR 24:281 (February 1998), amended by the Department of Agriculture and 

Forestry, Office of Commissioner, Advisory Commission on Pesticides, LR 30:197 (February 2004), repromulgated 

by Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, Advisory Commission 

on Pesticides, LR 37:3477 (December 2011). 

 

Family Impact Statement 

The proposed Rule should not have any known or foreseeable impact on family formation, stability, and autonomy.  

In particular, the proposed Rule has no known or foreseeable impact on: 

(1) the stability of the family; 

(2) the authority and rights of persons regarding the education and supervision of their children; 

(3) the functioning of the family; 

(4) family earnings and family budget; 

(5) the behavior and personal responsibility of children;  

(6) the ability of the family or a local government to perform the function as contained in the proposed Rule. 

 

Poverty Impact Statement 

The proposed Rule should not have any known or foreseeable impact on any child, individual or family as defined by 

R.S. 49:973(B).  In particular, there should be no known or foreseeable effect on: 

(1) the effect on household income, assets, and financial security; 

(2) the effect on early childhood development and preschool through postsecondary education development; 

(3) the effect on employment and workforce development; 

(4) the effect on taxes and tax credits; 

(5) the effect on child and dependent care, housing, health care, nutrition, transportation, and utilities assistance. 

 

 

 



Small Business Analysis 

Pursuant to R.S. 49:965.6, methods for reduction of the impact on small business, as defined in the Regulatory 

Flexibility Act, have been considered when creating this proposed Rule. This proposed Rule is not anticipated to have 

an adverse impact on small businesses; therefore, a Small Business Economic Impact Statement has not been prepared.  

 

Provider Impact Statement 

The proposed Rule should not have any known or foreseeable impact on providers as defined by HCR 170 of the 2014 

Regular Legislative Session.  In particular, there should be no known or foreseeable effect on: 

(1) the effect on the staffing level requirements or qualifications required to provide the same level of service; 

(2) the total direct and indirect effect on the cost to the providers to provide the same level of service; or  

(3) the overall effect on the ability of the provider to provide the same level of service.  

 

Public Comments 

Interested persons may submit written comments, data, opinions and arguments regarding the proposed Rule.  Written 

submissions must be directed to Kevin Wofford, Director of the Advisory Commission on Pesticides, Department of 

Agriculture & Forestry, 5825 Florida Blvd., Baton Rouge, LA 70806 and must be received no later than 4:00 p.m. on 

the 10th day of January, 2021.   

 

 

 

___________________________________________ 

Mike Strain, DVM 

Commissioner of Agriculture and Forestry 

 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL 
 UNITS (Summary) 
 

The proposed rule change will not result in any costs or savings to state or local government units.  The 
proposed rule amends LAC 7:XXIII.901 that increases testing fees for commercial pesticide applicators, 
restricted use pesticide (RUP) salespersons, and agricultural consultants for exams as well as enacts 
testing fees for private pesticide applicator exams. 
 

II.  ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL 
 UNITS (Summary) 

 

The proposed rule change is expected to increase state revenue collections by approximately $26,025 
annually. The estimated increase in revenue is based on the average number of pesticide exams 
administered annually by the Pesticide and Environmental Programs Division within the Louisiana 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry (LDAF) multiplied by the increased fee for each exam as 
follows: (1) $15,100 for commercial applicators & RUP salespersons in Baton Rouge (604 exams x $25 
fee increase);  $10,600 for private applicators (212 exams x $50 new fee); $325 for agricultural 
consultants (13 exams x $25 fee increase).  The proposed rule amends LAC 7:XXIII.701 that is not 
anticipated to have any effect on revenue collections for state or local government entities. 
 

III.  ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS, 
SMALL BUSINESSES, OR NON-GOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary) 

 

The proposed rule will increase the cost from $25 to $50 for applicants taking the commercial pesticide 

applicator, RUP salesperson, and agricultural consultant examinations at the Louisiana Department of 

Agriculture and Forestry (LDAF) headquarters in Baton Rouge. Also, applicants for private pesticide 

applicator will have a new examination fee of $50.  
 

The proposed rule may benefit applicants who fail to receive a passing score by removing re-testing 
waiting periods and limits on taking examinations.  Louisiana is the only state with restrictions on the 



time intervals between testing and limitations on the amount of re-testing permitted per year for the 
private applicator, commercial applicator, and salesperson examinations. These changes are being 
made to align with the current practices of other states and the industry. 
 

IV.  ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT (Summary) 
 

The proposed amendment to LAC 7:XXIII.701 may be beneficial to the applicant and industry in terms 
of employment by allowing opportunity to retest and pass an exam within a shorter period of time. 
The proposed amendment to LAC 7:XXIII.901 has no direct effect on competition and employment.  

 


